Professor Black

sauvignon blanc 2021

This Sauvignon Blanc was awarded 91 points by Tim Atkin and is one of the best value-for-money Sauvignon Blancs in all of South Africa!

The Professor Black Sauvignon Blanc has an impressive bouquet of elderflower, grassy nettle, ripe passion fruit and fresh lime. The wine has a beautiful richness with notes of passion and citrus fruits as well as a fine acidity that balances the wine excellently.

It offers a really nice drinking experience for aperitifs or as a food companion!

Warwick has been part of our KapWeine range for several years now and offers top wines with a special quality throughout. The sustained success and the constantly increasing quality of the Warwick wines have led us to choose the outstanding «Warwick Professor Black Sauvignon Blanc 2021» as «White Wine of the Year 2022». With the active support of the Warwick management in South Africa, you can now obtain this wine at a particularly attractive price all year round!

91 Points by Tim Atkin
17 Points by Blick

Auffällige Nase mit Noten von Holunderblüten, Brennnesseln, reifer Passionsfrucht und Limette. Der Gaumen ist lebendig und spritzig mit einer Fülle von Passionsfrucht und Zitrusfrüchten, schön strukturiert mit heller anhaltender Säure.

Aktion
WARWICK
Professor Black – Suavignon Blanc – 2021
CHF 13.90 instead of CHF 19.90

Warwick White wine of the year 2022 (2)
Warwick White wine of the year 2022 (1)

The winemaker
JD (Johannes Diederick)

JD may be a meticulous winemaker, but that doesn’t mean he can’t rock out, with alt-rock playlists constantly playing in the wine cellar.

In 2007, JD completed his Bachelor of Science in Viticulture and Enology at Stellenbosch University before working at Beyerskloof Wines and Graham Beck. He also spent a vintage in Sonoma, California. On his return, JD worked under John Loubser at Steen-berg before joining Warwick in 2019.

WARWICK ESTATE 

STELLENBOSCH

The winery became famous through Norma Ratcliffe and the wine label «Lady». Norma was one of the first female winemakers in South Africa and is considered a pioneer. Since 2018, the woman power on this wine estate has been continued undiminished by Christiane von Arnim, another power woman, with even more verve, determination, finesse and great visions.

 From 1771 to 1902 Warwick was part of the farm «De Goede Sukses» (good success). After the end of the Second Boer War, Colonel William Alexander Gordon, commanding officer of the Warwickshire Regiment, acquired the historic farm and named it Warwick as a tribute to his regiment. In 1964, Stan & Norma Ratcliffe took over the wine farm. This was the beginning of Warwick’s road to success.

In 2017, the Ratcliffe family sold the former family farm to Charles Marston and Kishore Bopardikar of California-based Eileses Capital, who also acquired the neighbouring Uitkyk wine farm from Distell. This acquisition expanded Warwick’s presence to over 700ha of prime terroir. Thus, the signs are pointing to expansion, towards becoming a big player at the highest level..

WARWICK GOES BIG

Warwick offers various wines with 1.5 / 5 / 12 litres, which you can find in the online shop.

MAGNUM HAMMER DEAL
WARWICK
Trilogy – Magnum – 2019
CHF 59.00 instead of CHF 89.00

MAGNUM HAMMER DEAL
WARWICK
First Lady Cabernet Sauvignon – Magnum – 2019
CHF 24.90 instead of CHF 39.00

Professor Black

Pitch Black 2017

The Warwick Professor Black Pitch Black 2017 was awarded 92 points by Tim Atkin and is already a lot of fun.

Warwick has an extensive focus on planting Bordeaux grape varieties, with Cabernet Sauvignon and increasingly Cabernet Franc playing a key role. There is an emphasis on an environmentally friendly approach to producing the highest quality grapes, avoiding the use of herbicides and insecticides (as evidenced by the booming earthworm population). The Warwick Professor Black Pitch Black 2017 is made from a classic blend of Cabernet Sauvignon, Cabernet Franc, Cinsault, Merlot, Petit Verdot and Malbec. The dark berries, wild berries and herbs fill the glass and offer structure and fine tannins to the palate. The Cinsault adds a layer of clean, bright, juicy berry fruit over what is otherwise quite a weighty affair.

The wine presents itself ready to drink now and will continue to develop over the next 10 years. Most red wines from South Africa develop the last 20% of their potential only after 5 to 10 years of ageing. To prove this, we offer the Warwick Trilogy 2008 for comparison. Order the matured Trilogy set of 6 for CHF 229.00 instead of CHF 324.00 with the vintages 2008/2011/2012/ 2013/2014/2015 and convince yourself of the great development potential of Warwick wines!

92 Points by Tim Atkin
92 Points by Winemag SA
4.5 Stars by Platter’s

Dark berries, wild strawberries, violets and herbs fill the glass. The palate is rich and structured with fine-grained tannins and a bright and penetrating freshness delivered by the unwooded Cinsault component. The finish is dark and brooding with concentration and a lingering aftertaste.

Special Offer
WARWICK
Professor Black Pitch Black – 2018
CHF 16.90 instead of CHF 29.00

Warwick White wine of the year 2022 (2)

Ratings

Who doesn’t know the White Lady Chardonnay (94 Tim Atkin – 5* Platter’s), which started as «White Wine of the Year» at KapWeine 2020 – there’s been no stopping it since!

This excellent Chardonnay has since been one of our white wine bestsellers with over 6000 bottles sold per year. The red Three Cape Ladies was also already successful in 2019 as “Red Wine of the Year” and has since secured a large fan base. In addition to the First Lady line with the already good entry-level wines (Chardonnay with 16.5 and Cabernet Sauvignon with 15.5 Jancis Robinson) at even better entry-level prices, our focus at Warwick is on the top red wines. Here, the Cabernet Franc (93 Tim Atkin – 92 Robert Parker – 5* Platter’s) has long shone as one of the best in the country. The Blue Lady Cabernet Sauvignon (93 Tim Atkin – 5* Platter’s) shows the high pedigree of the Muldervlei terroir with its power structure and depth. No wonder! After all, the vineyards of Warwick and Uitkyk are right next to those of Kanonkop. The flagship Cuvée Trilogy (97 Decanter – 95 Tim Atkin – 4.5* Platters) rounds off the top-end range with a high-class Cape Bordeaux blend.

Warwick Tasting Sets

Preisliste

Aktion – 6er Set
RED TOP – TASTING SET

KapWeine Warwick 6er Tasting Set Red Top, consisting of 1 bottle each:

Warwick Cabernet Sauvignon Blue Lady
Warwick Professor Black Pitch Black
Warwick Shiraz Black Lady
Warwick Cabernet Franc
Warwick Trilogy
Warwick Three Cape Ladies
CHF 149.00 instead of CHF 213.70

Aktion – 6er Set
MIXED TOP – TASTING SET

KapWeine Warwick 6er Tasting Set Mixed Top, consisting of 1 bottle each

Warwick Cabernet Sauvignon Blue Lady
Warwick Professor Black Pitch Black
Warwick Chardonnay White Lady
Warwick Cabernet Franc
Warwick Trilogy
Warwick Professor Black Saucignon Blanc
CHF 145.00 instead of CHF 208.70

Aktion – 6er Set
TRILOGY – JAHRGANGS-TASTING SET

KapWeine Warwick 6er Tasting Set Trilogy Gereift, consisting of 1 bottle each

Warwick Trilogy 2008
Warwick Trilogy 2011
Warwick Trilogy 2012
Warwick Trilogy 2013
Warwick Trilogy 2014
Warwick Trilogy 2015
CHF 229.00 instead of CHF 324.00

Special Offer- 6er Set
MIXED VALUE – TASTING SET

KapWeine Warwick 6er Tasting Set Mixed Value,consisting of 1 bottle each:

Warwick Professor Black Sauvignon Blanc
Warwick The First Lady Chardonnay
Warwick Three Cape Ladies
Warwick The First Lady Cabernet Sauvignon
Warwick The First Lady Pinotage
Warwick Professor Black Pitch Black
CHF 89.00 instead of CHF 136.40

«White Wine of the Year 2022» Online brochure

Alle Preise in CHF inkl. MWST. Daily price as of 01.04.2022.Offers valid while stocks last. Fehler und Preisänderungen unter Vorbehalt.

Professor Black

sauvignon blanc 2021

Dieser Sauvignon Blanc wurde von Tim Atkin mit 91 Punkten ausgezeichnet und ist einer der besten Preis-Genuss Sauvignon Blancs von ganz Südafrika!

Der Professor Black Sauvignon Blanc besticht in der Nase mit einem eindrucksvollen Bouquet: Holunder-blüten, grasiger Brennessel, reifer Passionsfrucht und frischen Limetten. Der Wein hat eine schöne Fülle mit Noten von Passions- und Zitrusfrüchten sowie einer feingliedrigen Säure, welche den Wein hervorragend ausbalanciert.

Er bietet ein richtig schönes Trinkerlebnis für Apéros oder als Essensbegleiter!

Seit einigen Jahren schon gehört Warwick zu unserem KapWeine Sortiment und bietet durchs Band Top-Weine mit einer besonderen Qualität. Der nachhaltige Erfolg und die stetig steigenden Qualitäten der Warwick Weine, hat uns dazu bewogen, den outstanding «Warwick Professor Black Sauvignon Blanc 2021» zum «White Wine of the Year 2022» zu küren. Mit der tatkräftigen Unterstützung des Warwick Manage-ments in Südafrika, erhalten Sie diesen Wein nun zu einem besonders attraktiven Preis das ganze Jahr!

91 Points by Tim Atkin
17 Points by Blick

Auffällige Nase mit Noten von Holunderblüten, Brennnesseln, reifer Passionsfrucht und Limette. Der Gaumen ist lebendig und spritzig mit einer Fülle von Passionsfrucht und Zitrusfrüchten, schön strukturiert mit heller anhaltender Säure.

Aktion
WARWICK
Professor Black – Suavignon Blanc – 2021
CHF 13.90 statt CHF 19.90

Warwick White wine of the year 2022 (2)
Warwick White wine of the year 2022 (1)

Der Weinmacher
JD (Johannes Diederick)

JD mag ein akribischer Winzer sein, aber das bedeutet nicht, dass er nicht abrocken kann, denn im Weinkeller werden ständig Alt-Rock-Playlisten abgespielt.

Im Jahr 2007 schloss JD seinen Bachelor of Science in Wein-bau und Önologie an der Universität Stellenbosch ab, bevor er bei Beyerskloof Wines und Graham Beck arbeitete. Er verbrachte auch eine Weinlese in Sonoma, Kalifornien. Nach seiner Rückkehr arbeitete JD unter John Loubser bei Steen-berg, bevor er 2019 zu Warwick kam.

WARWICK ESTATE 

STELLENBOSCH

Bekannt wurde das Weingut durch Norma Ratcliffe und dem Weinlabel «Lady». Norma war eine der ersten Weinmacherinnen in Südafrika und gilt als Pionierin. Der Woman-Power auf diesem Wein- gut wird seit 2018 von Christiane von Arnim, einer weiteren Power-Frau unvermindert und mit noch mehr Elan, Bestimmtheit, Finesse und grossen Visionen weitergeführt.

 Von 1771 bis 1902 war Warwick ein Teil der Farm «De Goede Sukses» (guten Erfolg). Nach Ende des zweiten Burenkriegs erwarb Oberst William Alexander Gordon, befehlshaber Offizier des War-wickshire Regiments, die historische Farm und gab ihr als Tribut an sein Regiment den Namen Warwick. 1964 übernahmen Stan & Norma Ratcliffe die Weinfarm. Damit begann der Erfolgs-weg für Warwick.

2017 verkaufte die Familie Ratcliffe den einstigen Familienbetrieb an Charles Marston und Kishore Bopardikar von der kalifornischen Eileses Capital, welche auch die benachbarte Wein-farm Uitkyk von Distell erwarben. Durch diesen Zukauf wurde die Warwick-Präsenz auf über 700ha erstklassigen Terroirs erweitert. Somit stehen die Zeichen auf Expansion, hin zum Big Player auf höchstem Niveau.

WARWICK GOES BIG

Warwick bietet diverse Weine mit 1.5 / 5 / 12 Litern, welche Sie im Onlineshop finden.

MAGNUM HAMMER DEAL
WARWICK
Trilogy – Magnum – 2019
CHF 59.00 statt CHF 89.00

MAGNUM HAMMER DEAL
WARWICK
First Lady Cabernet Sauvignon – Magnum – 2019
CHF 24.90 statt CHF 39.00

Professor Black

Pitch Black 2020

Der Warwick Professor Black Pitch Black 2020 wurde von Tim Atkin mit 92 Punkten ausgezeichnet und bereitet jetzt schon viel Spass.

Warwick hat einen umfangreichen Fokus auf die Anpflanzung von Bordeaux Rebsorten, wobei Cabernet Sauvignon und vermehrt Cabernet Franc eine Schlüsselrolle zu Teil wird. Man legt Wert auf einen umweltfreundlichen Ansatz für die Erzeugung von Trauben höchster Qualität, wobei auf den Einsatz von Herbiziden und Insektiziden verzichtet wird, (was sich an der boomenden Regenwurmpopulation erkennen lässt). Der Warwick Professor Black Pitch Black 2017 besteht aus einem klassischen Cuvée wie Cabernet Sauvignon, Cabernet Franc, Cinsault, Merlot, Petit Verdot und Malbec. Die dunklen Beeren, Waldbeeren und Kräuter füllen das Glas und bieten dem Gaumen Struktur und feine Tannine. Der Cinsault legt eine Schicht sauberer, heller, saftiger Beerenfrüchte über die ansonsten recht gewichtige Angelegenheit.

Der Wein präsentiert sich jetzt schon trinkreif und wird sich über die nächsten 10 Jahre weiterentwickeln. Die meisten Rotweine aus Südafrika entwickeln die letzten 20% des Potentials erst nach 5 bis 10 Jahren Lagerung. Um den Beweis anzutreten, bieten wir den Warwick Trilogy 2008 zum Vergleich an. Bestellen Sie gleich das gereifte Trilogy 6er-Set zu CHF 229.00 statt CHF 324.00 mit den Jahrgängen 2008/2011/2012/ 2013/2014/2015 und überzeugen Sie sich selbst vom grossartigen Entwicklungspotential der Warwick Weine!

92 Points by Tim Atkin
92 Points by Winemag SA
4.5 Stars by Platter’s

Dunkle Beeren, Walderdbeeren, Veilchen und Kräuter füllen das Glas. Der Gaumen ist reichhaltig und strukturiert mit feinkörnigen Tanninen und einer hellen und durchdringenden Frische, die von der unbewaldeten Cinsault-Komponente geliefert wird. Der Abgang ist dunkel und brütig mit Konzentration und einem anhaltenden Nachgeschmack.

Aktion
WARWICK
Professor Black Pitch Black – 2020
CHF 16.90 statt CHF 29.00

Warwick White wine of the year 2022 (2)

Ratings

Wer kennt ihn nicht, den White Lady Chardonnay (94 Tim Atkin – 5* Platter’s), welcher bei KapWeine 2020 als «White Wine of the Year» startete – seither gibt es kein halten mehr!

Dieser exzellente Chardonnay gehört seither mit über 6000 verkauften Flaschen pro Jahr zu einem unserer Weissweine Bestsellern. Der rote Three Cape Ladies war ebenfalls schon 2019 als «Red Wine of the Year» erfolgreich unterwegs und hat sich seither eine grosse Fangemeinde gesichert. Neben der First Lady Linie mit den schon guten Einstiegs-Weinen (Chardonnay mit 16.5 und Cabernet Sauvignon mit 15.5 Jancis Robinson) zu noch besseren Einstiegs-Preisen, liegt unser Fokus bei Warwick auf den TopRotweinen. Hier glänzen der Cabernet Franc (93 Tim Atkin – 92 Robert Parker – 5* Platter’s) schon länger als einer der besten des Landes. Der Blue Lady Cabernet Sauvignon (93 Tim Atkin – 5* Platters) zeigt das hochstehende Pedigree des Muldervlei Terroirs mit seiner PowerStruktur und Tiefgang auf. Kein Wunder! Liegen doch die Rebberge von Warwick und Uitkyk gleich neben denen von Kanonkop. Das Flagship Cuvée Trilogy (97 Decanter – 95 Tim Atkin – 4.5* Platters) rundet das Top-End Angebot mit einem hochklassigen Cape Bordeaux Blend ab.

Warwick Tasting Sets

Preisliste

Aktion – 6er Set
RED TOP – TASTING SET

KapWeine Warwick 6er Tasting Set Red Top, bestehend aus je 1 Flasche:

Warwick Cabernet Sauvignon Blue Lady
Warwick Professor Black Pitch Black
Warwick Shiraz Black Lady
Warwick Cabernet Franc
Warwick Trilogy
Warwick Three Cape Ladies
CHF 149.00 statt CHF 213.70

Aktion – 6er Set
MIXED TOP – TASTING SET

KapWeine Warwick 6er Tasting Set Mixed Top, bestehend aus je 1 Flasche:

Warwick Cabernet Sauvignon Blue Lady
Warwick Professor Black Pitch Black
Warwick Chardonnay White Lady
Warwick Cabernet Franc
Warwick Trilogy
Warwick Professor Black Saucignon Blanc
CHF 145.00 statt CHF 208.70

Aktion – 6er Set
TRILOGY – JAHRGANGS-TASTING SET

KapWeine Warwick 6er Tasting Set Trilogy Gereift, bestehend aus je 1 Flasche:

Warwick Trilogy 2008
Warwick Trilogy 2011
Warwick Trilogy 2012
Warwick Trilogy 2013
Warwick Trilogy 2014
Warwick Trilogy 2015
CHF 229.00 statt CHF 324.00

Aktion – 6er Set
MIXED VALUE – TASTING SET

KapWeine Warwick 6er Tasting Set Mixed Value, bestehend aus je 1 Flasche:

Warwick Professor Black Sauvignon Blanc
Warwick The First Lady Chardonnay
Warwick Three Cape Ladies
Warwick The First Lady Cabernet Sauvignon
Warwick The First Lady Pinotage
Warwick Professor Black Pitch Black
CHF 89.00 statt CHF 136.40

«White Wine of the Year 2022» Online Broschüre

Alle Preise in CHF inkl. MWST. Tagespreis vom 01.04.2022.
Angebote gültig solange Vorrat. Fehler und Preisänderungen unter Vorbehalt.